“I” – (A song for the Man who is always right)



Even as the story goes

all around

it’s the girl who’s wrong

and wrong and wrong.

 

Wrong colour, wrong shape, wrong size, wrong style,

nose too large and mouth too wide,

eyes that glitter when sparkle they should,

feet that trip when catwalk they could.

 

I wish, I want, I need, I, I.

Become the mantra for an industry’s supply.

Silky hair swinging side to side

Flawless skin one has ever spied.

 

She swings, she smiles, I hold my breath

I gasp for air when our eyes have met

I slide on the curves of Time’s refrain

Hourglass or dumbbell, they’re all the same.

 

I’ll guide her through what she needs to do.

Her shape, her walk, change her lipstick’s hue.

Her smile now fades, she frowns, she thinks…

Could she have a will peeping from those chinks?

 

She makes these statements that start with ‘I’,

she makes her point. Oh why won’t she try

to say yes and leave it well alone –

she argues she is fair and will my views condone!

 

Thwarted. Who me? Never can it be.

She’ll learn she argues unnecessarily.

I dub her rigid, I dub her wrong

and if she disagrees she’ll prove my song.

4 thoughts on ““I” – (A song for the Man who is always right)”

  1. Hi. I never studied with you at Bahria, my department of social sciences was only merged with psychology department in my first semester. My experience at Bahria was… enough to embitter me as a woman and feminist. Even though some of the NCMPR teachers were more professional and better teachers than the ones in the management sciences department, they remained eternally misogynist. One teacher even had the insulting gall to tell me to my face, after learning that I was a feminist, that she did not think feminism was worth anything or had ever amounted to anything, a blend of ignorance and lack of sensitivity training in teachers. I first noticed you on PFD and I find it really encouraging that a teacher from Bahria is a feminist. I wish I’d had the chance to speak to you at uni, it would have been a much-needed reprieve from the everyday monotony of friends telling me to cover myself properly with my dupatta and male teachers being offensive and out of line constantly. Oh and also, you’re a brilliant writer. 🙂

    1. Thanks for the feedback Ghausia 🙂 . It is really nice to hear from someone with strong opinions and a well developed personality. I wouldn’t exactly call myself a feminist at this time. I in many ways am still learning about it from several avenues. Philosophy interests me a lot, but I don’t adhere to any one form in particular. There are different aspects in many different avenues of thinking I like and feel they gel in well with who I am. I came across several different types of feminism while looking into it. One that particularly appealed to the environmentalist in me was and is ecofeminism. I wonder if you have ever dabbled in it.

      Additionally, sorry to learn that you felt scorned and your ideas rejected. Unfortunately thats the way we all are at times. In order to adhere to our ideas we find it necessary to reject the other. It is the way it is done that can be hurtful really. I hope you meet with empathic people in your future dealings.

      Keep posting. it is great to share ideas with people who respond as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

